Love · Me, Myself & I

If You’re A Single Lady, Keep Your Hands Up

Legally speaking, I have been single for 30 years, 3 months and 13 days. And yes, I am writing this blog to at least have a reference when I start telling ‘once upon a time’ stories to my children and grandchildren.

Being single gave me great memories to keep in my lifetime. It was the time when you do things without any care in the world. It was the time when you meet, date, flirt and feel beautiful with different men as much as you want. It was the time when you allow yourself to experience different kinds of emotions – heartache, pain, denial, rejection and the like. It was the time when you are allowed to do things at your own pace, at your own time.

I was meaning to write this post days before my wedding but never got the chance to do so because I was so busy with the preparations and I was not in my correct frame of mind to blog. Excuses. But in those few days, it finally got into me that these will be my final days being single. It was the time when I start asking myself if I was really doing this and if I’m really prepared for the next chapter of my life. And I guess I was. Memories just started flashing back and I just couldn’t help smiling and grinning like an idiot.

So if you’re still single until now, I suggest that you enjoy and savor every minute of it. Enjoy simple things. Enjoy being in and out of a relationship. Enjoy living life pleasing yourself and not anyone else. So if you’re still a single lady, keep your hands up and ride the scariest roller coaster you ever encountered in your life and never forget that feeling.

Leave a Reply

