Me, Myself & I

Change Address

My personal fairy tale was like : 1. Met a man in a hotel in Wiesbaden, Germany, 2. We were in a long distance relationship for 4 years, 3. He proposed in front of the Eiffel Tower, 4. Now, we are living in Wiesbaden.

What could possibly be the odds that we would end up together and live here in Germany?! I always believed that it happened for a reason. And if you ask me now how it is, it has been a roller coaster of emotions and i am still getting the hang of it.

A week after our wedding in Spain, we came back here and yes, we started to live. I had a few good months of relaxation and worry-free days. I started my role as a wife, a housewife to be exact. I thought that I would miss flying but i just actually missed the salary. Being a housewife is not an easy job. Time and house management skills should be in place to be able to function well. I have my personal time when my husband is at work and then i can be a wife when he comes home from work. That was my daily routine but not until I had to enroll myself in a German language class.

German or some say Deutsch is a very challenging language. For me, I have to learn it to be able to feel good about myself in this foreign country. I enrolled last May just because the next beginners class will not start until November. I thought about the time lost so I decided to just start the course. So now, my day is pretty filled-up because i go to school everyday for 3 hours. It is actually what I look forward to everyday.

I have been living here for 8 months. I tried to live a normal life. I tried to fit in and mostly I tried to speak the language. It has been the first time that I felt I’ve been challenged just because of the language. As much as I want to say that everyone here are nice and helpful, they are not. It depends from person to person though but people here usually expect you to know German just because you live here.

The weather has also been contributing to my emotional days. I got to experience a whole day of gloominess and cold weather. It made me think that the weather really has a lot to do when you are trying to acclimatize yourself in a country. I am a tropic baby and this is certainly all so new to me – days without the sun shining!

Oh well, living in Germany has not been easy. I have to say that I have been amazed of how they are being a first-world country. Everything seems calculated and controlled but I can’t blame them because it actually works. It is actually a safe and secure place to live. I am just glad that I have been given a residence visa (thanks to my husband), we live in a nice flat, we are living comfortably and most importantly, i have a loving and kind husband who always makes sure that I feel loved everyday. The struggle I feel, he also feels and that living in this country may be at times melancholic but we will always have each other at the end of the day.

Leave a Reply

